Know your past 23 GFA Presidents in 62 years of football in Ghana

The Ghana Football Association(GFA) will be going to the polls on October 25,2019 to elect its executives and the President of the association,as the GFA is currently being managed by the normalization committee which was set up by FIFA in 2018.

The decision for the NC to take over the administration of the GFA, came after undercover journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas revealed the amount of corruption in the association and Ghanaian football in general in a documentary titled number 12, which was aired at the Accra International Conference Center on June 6,2018.

Also read: Ghana humbles Ivory Coast to get to WAFU Cup final

The NC after staying in office for more than a year, have now given the green light for the GFA general elections and six people have been cleared by the vetting committee to contest for the high office of the Ghana Football Association.

Past 23 GFA Presidents in 62 years

As the whole country prepares for the outcome of the GFA Presidential elections ,we bring you the full list of the past GFA Presidents since 1957.

1. Mr. Ohene Djan 1957–1960

2. Mr. H. P. Nyametei 1960–1966

3. Nana Fredua Mensah 1966–1970

4. Mr. Henry Djaba 1970–1972

5. Maj. Gen. R. E. A. Kotei 1972–1973

6. Col. Brew-Graves 1973–1975

7. Maj. George Lamptey 1975–1977

8. Maj. D. O. Asiamah 1977–1979

9. Mr. I. R. Aboagye 1979

10. Mr. Samuel Okyere 1979–1980

11. Mr. S. K. Mainoo 1980–1982

12. Mr. Zac Bentum 1982–1983

13. Mr. L. Ackah-Yensu 1983–1984

14. Mr. L. T. K. Caesar 1984

15. Mr. E. O. Teye 1984–1986

16. Mr. Samuel Okyere 1986–1990

17. Mr. Awuah Nyamekye 1990–1992

18.Mr. Joe Lartey 1992–1993

19. Mr. Samuel Brew-Butler 1993–1997

20. Alhaji M. N. D. Jawula 1997–2001

21. Mr. Ben Koufie 2001–2003

22. Dr. N. Nyaho-Tamakloe 2004–2005

23. Mr. Kwesi Nyantakyi 2005–2018

24. 2019 ?

Meanwhile these are the six candidates who have been cleared by the vetting committee to contest for the high office of the Ghana Football Association, Amanda Clinton,Kurt Okraku,George Afriyie,Frederick Pappoe,Nana Yaw Amponsah and George Ankomah.

Source: Ghanaweb

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!