TikTok, a social media platform that has already been banned in many countries and facing restrictions in the US, TikTok is under intense scrutiny due to concerns about data collection, you must set TikTok Privacy Settings. Given this, you may want to be mindful of the information you share on the app and with your followers. Here are some settings you can adjust to improve your privacy.
TikTok Privacy Settings1: Set Your TikTok Account to Private
When your profile is public, anyone, whether they have a TikTok account or not, can view your profile and the content you’ve shared. By setting your account to private, only people you approve as followers can see your profile and content. So, to keep your content within a trusted circle of friends and family, you should make your account private.
To do that, tap the profile icon in the bottom-right corner, then tap the three horizontal lines in the top-right corner. Select Settings and Privacy > Privacy, and toggle “Private Account” on.
Disable your TikTok Activity Status
TikTok’s Activity Status feature lets your mutual followers, users you follow who also follow you back, see a green dot on your profile, inbox, and message threads, indicating that you’re active. They can also see when you were last active. For this feature to work, both you and your follower must have it enabled.
So, if you prefer to browse videos without alerting your followers that you’re online, you should turn off this feature. This will prevent others from seeing your activity status, regardless of whether they have it enabled. To do this, go to Settings and Privacy > Privacy, and toggle off “Activity Status.”











